top of page
  • lucia

The Signature Portfolio

October

What is the vision for this project? - That is a question I hold onto while planning everything. I wish for this project to bring into the community. Figuring out the platform I am about to use to connect, structuring my work, and connecting with the supportive mechanisms ( my project Manager and Liaison) is the essence of this month. Apart from the visible outcomes of Signature classes and my work, I try to connect, communicate and get involved in everything I trust Lifestyle Medicine and my initiative can positively impact.

November

Sometimes things don't run as smoothly and quickly as expected, and I am working on acknowledging this fact. This month I worked on my first article and got so many ideas about other topics I want to touch on, speak about, and develop my knowledge on. Another task marked as done on my Signature to-do list for this month is the Poster, which after a few (understand several 100s) times finally looks as I imagined. I have successfully finished my Annotated Bibliography assignment. The positivity and great energy coming from this project keep surrounding me and I keep thinking about the great things that are about to come!


December

This semester has been one big challenge for me, Signature not being an exception. Working on, trying to fulfill my vision or the project, I see that in many cases I rushed myself and forgot, that everything takes its time. So I worked on the improvement in the “relationship” between me and my project. So far it taught me a lot about structured work, design, blog management, and my personal writing style. I enhanced my research skills and came to understand what exactly inspires me to work in Lifestyle Medicine. I am excited that my initiative has gained support and admiration among Wellies and several faculty members found my ideas inspiring. I am happy and motivated to follow the lead of my project through the next semester with an intention of a greater direct connection with our community.


January

Coming back after winter break I feel like my Signature project can really become a part of my comfort/supportive mechanism. I feel like it is hard to be motivated about wellness sometimes, especially when one is experiencing a thought period personally, and that is exactly why picking a topic that is so close to me is both amazing and really, really challenging. When I don’t feel well, it is hard to motivate others and write about how to feel better.

I am driven by my new ideas for the project (Instagram, podcast, collaborations…), although I am concerned about the time commitment this brings up. I have learned that more effective and realistic planning would have helped me - because unfortunately, I can’t spend all of my time and energy dedicated to this project. To keep up with my schedule, I have planned 2 new articles and a collaborative Podcast with Wellies!


February

Since it is already February I am trying to look back at what worked well so far and what didn’t. I think I need to establish a better routine when it comes to keeping up with my Signature work, now when I am in the nonscheduled period. It is a great challenge, to be completely honest. Being academically completely overwhelmed and personally seeking peace at these times, Let’s Talk keeps being actively on my mind. Even though the progress is not visible, the greatest lessons are learned within me. It is a project I am passionate about, but I think I really overestimated what the success or a finish line should be. I need time to really reconsider how to get back on track. I backed up with my expectations, and what I aspire for at the moment is really building a positive relationship with my goals and routines that will lead me to them. Especially, being in the unscheduled period is challenging,

Time flies and I feel very overwhelmed with the amount of all of my commitments. To keep myself productive, I have decided to dive deeeper and outside, not so visible work on my project - reading and studying some literature related to the Brain, Cognition, Psychology and Nutrition. I have recently descovered several new and arising proffesionals from the are of my interest, and I am excited to follow their work - to name some: Dr. Uma Naidoo (Nutritional Psychiatrist), Dr. Neal Bernard and his new book Foods for Brain, and someone I have been following for quite some time now, Dr. Greger, I launching new Nutirtional educational series. Happy to learn more, I can use to share in the future!


March

The Podcast with Wellies is out! Such an exciting project, which I am so happy about. It was really refreshing concept of sharing knowledge, and I really enjoyed it which also sparked an idea to maybe, at some point, start one myself.

Since it is already February I am trying to look back at what worked well so far and what didn’t. I think I need to establish a better routine when it comes to keeping up with my Signature work, now when I am in the nonscheduled period. It is a great challenge, to be completely honest. Being academically completely overwhelmed and personally seeking peace at these times, Let’s Talk keeps being actively on my mind. Even though the progress is not visible, the greatest lessons are learned within me. It is a project I am passionate about, but I think I really overestimated what the success or a finish line should be. I need time to really reconsider how to get back on track. I backed up with my expectations, and what I aspire for at the moment is really building a positive relationship with my goals and routines that will lead me to them.

In my last meeting with Gemma with reflected on how well did I meet my expectations from the beginning of the year. We discussed how discouraging it no has unrealistic expectations, and how we are unmotivated to work because it feels like "failure". We talked about thinking about where I aim to bring my project from here, and how to build a better working attitude.

April

From the very beginning of my Signature project, I would set goals for myself. Thinking "oh, I should do this, I should organize that...", I had a mind full of ideas. However, I forgot about a crucial part of my project. Myself. I stopped check-in in with myself, I wouldn't slow down to ask Is this what I can do? Do I have the time, capacity, and energy for all of that? So yes, setting unrealistic goals that were meant to define my success quickly discouraged me from what was meant to be a project I loved. I felt disappointed for not meeting my own standards.

After talking with my manager, and my liaison and we all agreed that it is time to take a break, keep some distance and reflect. And once I did that I realized I don't have a goal that defines success. I am on my journey along with this never-ending project. Full of gratitude, today, I can say that I am happy about the initiative I came up with. Education in Lifestyle, Health, and Well-being is never-ending. It is constantly evolving, just as I am, just as my Signature project is.

I consider it a success already. I had the courage to start, and even though I got a little lost on my way (due to many circumstances, mostly personal), I am getting back, gaining motivation for continuing in what I am passionate about. For myself - without any need for validation or definition of success. There is no outcome I am hoping for, there is just a desire to feel gratification and joy when dedicating myself to Lifestyle Medicine and sharing it with others.


May

Exciting things are happening. I am currently working on finishing off couple of drafted articles, my presentation, and my Mental Health & Nutrition Course work, I enrolled in sometime by the beggining of the last month. To be transparent, I recently feel stressed and overhelmed, and the more I do to dedicate enough time to all of my responsibilities, the less energy I have to enjoy this process. I am trying to be consisten and motivated, while I truly wish for greater space and liberty when it comes to the Curriculum of Signature itself, or even my personal time.



bottom of page